For a safe togetherness

Artwork: Benedikt Rugar, https://www.instagram.com/benedikt_rugar

Take care of each other and respect other people’s personal space – previously unwritten rules need to be spoken out due to a rise in needle / drink spiking of club goers. While it is important to note that such unwitting, non-consensual and devious assaults happen rarely, every case is one too much – encroaching behaviour is not acceptable, drugging others is a crime and dangerous: offenders are being permanently removed from the premises and reported to authorities. In order to reducing harm through un/conscious behavior, find below information and resources for a safer togetherness, and how to help yourself or others when help is needed.

What everyone can do

– Take care of each other
Be respectful to others, respect their personal space and intimacy, only act upon mutual consent – only yes means yes! If you encounter a negative or molesting experience, involve friends or trusted people, and any of our staff.

– Let them know
Between friends, involve each other about your individual consumption throughout the night, what and how much of it you've had.

– Drink water, but don't share around
Always stay hydrated and take sips of water, regardless if you want to remain sober, or not. Cold potable water is available for free on tab in all restroom areas. Don't accept any liquids that have not been poured in front of your eyes at the bar. Don't share a drink vessel with others. Have your drinks attended at all times.

– Educate yourself
Download and use the KnowDrugs app. It is free and provides you comprehensive, up-to-date information and alerts on substances and harm reduction practices. Poly drug use or the combination with alcohol consumption should be strictly avoided.

– Speak up
When you observe non-consensual action, encroaching behavior or unsafe experiences, speak up, or turn to our staff. Reach out to support@berghain.de when you want to address an experience in hindsight.

– Believe each other
When in doubt, trust an account and help other people.

Don’t forget to go home
Sleep is imperative and not a personal flaw, clubs are loud spaces, a club night isn't a marathon – give your body a rest. When you leave, inform your friends, or have trustworthy people accompany you. Consider using a rideshare service with registered drivers, avoid going alone.

What you can do if you start feeling unwell, or affected by sexualized violence

– Get immediate help from others
Inform your friends, trustworthy people around you, or professionals and describe them any changes in your condition or perception. Ask them to stay with you in case your condition worsens, but ask people you do not want to have near you to leave the situation – perpetrators may act as pretend helpers.

– Involve any of our staff
Turn to our staff, be it runners, bar, coat check or door crew. Involve them with your state of condition, and what you know or suspect that has led to it – they will help you, call for backup, if necessary support you in our quiet room on ground floor, or call medical assistance.

– Seek medical attention
Condition-permitting, receive medical support resp. get admitted to hospital by calling 112, or consult a doctor. If you feel like being affected by date-rape drugs – so-called drink or needle spiking – get tested for Rohypnol / Flunitrazepam, Fentanyl, Scopolamine, Propofol, Ketamine, GHB / GBL or other downers. In case of physical harm, ask for HIV and Hepatitis C post-exposure prophylaxis medication. Disclose to professionals what you've consciously consumed in the lead-up to your worsening condition – physicians are subject to the medical duty of confidentiality, but information helps them help you.

– Secure evidence
Check your body for signs of external impact – to secure evidence of potential offences, immediate action is necessary. Have bruises, puncture marks, body fluids (urine, sweat, spit, sperm) and a full blood count recorded by a professional. Many drugs can only be detected within a very short time after administration. Document any recollections of the time preceding your experience as memory minutes. Consider filing charges with police when you feel ready for it – only this way crimes can be investigated and offenders be prosecuted.

– Talk with others
Do not feel sorry or guilty for what has been done to you. Talk to friends about your encounter. Seek professional counsel, support and advice – see below. Reach out to support@berghain.de about your experience, so that we can better learn from and adapt policies from any experience.

What you can do if others are in need of care

– Learn more and take action
Speak to the person in need of care, ask how they are feeling, if they want or need help. When in doubt about another person's condition, ask others to get help with our staff, and stay with the needy yourself.

– Share contacts, but respect personal space
Don't know each other but you have made observations that may help others? Offer sharing your contact information with them. Respect that you may be a stranger to them, and that your offer may be dismissed. Between friends, never let one leave alone with someone you don’t know or trust.

– Don't offer ‘self-medication'
Never alter, ‘slow down’ or ‘better’ a person's condition by offering any substance. In almost all cases it will worsen or complicate the situation.

– Call 112
When you are sure a person needs immediate medical attention, or if their condition deteriorates, call an ambulance.

Mental and physical health support resources

Outpatient Clinic for the Protection against Violence
Forensic medical examination center for Berlin at Charitè
Confidential evidence recovery, appointments Monday to Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 3 p.m., examinations between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.
DNA traces can only be secured within the first 72 hours after a crime
Birkenstraße 62, Haus N, 10559 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: +49-30-450570270

MVZ Laboratory Medicine Berlin
Laboratory blood count analysis, Tuesday and Thursday between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.
Ostseestr. 111, 10409 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: +49-30-400064862

Berlin Crisis Service
Support with psychosocial problems, daily between 4 p.m. and midnight, national on-call service from midnight to 8 a.m., weekends and holidays between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Große Hamburger Straße 5, 10115 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: +49-30-3906310

LARA - Specialized Office against Sexualized Violence against Women*
Counseling and support for female* victims of sexualized violence, Monday to Friday between 9 a.m. and 6 p.m.
Tel. +49-30-2168888

MUT-Trauma help for men*
Counseling and support for male* victims of sexualized violence, by appointment
Tel: +49-30-23633978

Victim Support Berlin
Counseling and support for victims and witnesses of crimes, by appointment Monday to Friday between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m., Tuesday and Thursday between 3 p.m. and 6 p.m.
Oldenburger Str. 38, 10551 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: +49-30-3952867

Drug Emergency Service Berlin
Party drug consultation with information, advice and safer use, 24-hour hotline
Tel: +49-30-19237

Walk Home Phone
Get company by call for your way home no matter where you are, Sunday to Thursday between 8 p.m. and midnight, Friday and Saturday between 8 p.m. and 3 a.m.
Tel: +49-30-12074182

The contents of this page are for information purposes only and do not claim to be complete, up to date or accurate.

Für ein sicheres Miteinander

Artwork: Benedikt Rugar, https://www.instagram.com/benedikt_rugar

Nehmt Rücksicht aufeinander und respektiert den persönlichen Raum anderer – bisher ungeschriebene Regeln müssen aufgrund von Fällen von Übergriffen durch Nadel- und Getränkespiking auf Clubbesuchende ausgesprochen werden. Zwar sind solche nicht einvernehmlichen und hinterhältigen Angriffe selten, aber jeder Fall ist einer zu viel – übergriffiges Verhalten ist inakzeptabel, das nicht einvernehmliche Berauschen anderer ist eine Straftat und gefährlich: Täter werden dauerhaft des Hauses verwiesen und den Behörden angezeigt. Um Schäden durch un/bewusstes Verhalten zu mindern, findest du hier Informationen und Ressourcen für ein sichereres Miteinander, und wie du dir selbst oder anderen helfen kannst, wenn Hilfe geboten ist.

Was alle tun können

Gebt aufeinander acht
Seid rücksichtsvoll miteinander, respektiert den persönlichen Raum und die Intimsphäre anderer, handelt nur nach gegenseitigem Einvernehmen – nur Ja heißt Ja! Wenn ihr eine negative oder bedrängende Erfahrung macht, wendet euch an eure Freund*innen, vertrauenswürdige Menschen und an unsere Crew.

Tauscht euch aus
Sprecht unter Freund*innen über euren individuellen Konsum, was und wieviel davon ihr hattet.

Trinkt Wasser, aber teilt nicht mit anderen
Bleibt stets hydriert und trinkt Wasser in kleinen Schlucken, ganz egal ob ihr nüchtern bleiben wollt, oder nicht. Kaltes, kostenloses Trinkwasser gibt es in allen Toilettenbereichen am Hahn. Nehmt keine Flüssigkeiten an, die nicht vor euren Augen an der Bar eingeschenkt wurden. Teilt keine Trinkgefäße mit anderen. Lasst eure Getränke nie unbeaufsichtigt stehen.

Informiert euch
Ladet die KnowDrugs-App runter und nutzt sie. Die App ist kostenlos und bietet umfassende, aktuelle Informationen und Warnungen zu Substanzen und Anleitungen zur Harm Reduction. Poly-Drogenkosum oder die Mischung mit Alkohol sollte unbedingt vermieden werden.

Sprecht es an
Wenn ihr nicht-einvernehmliche Handlungen oder übergriffiges Verhalten beobachtet, sprecht die Leute an, oder wendet euch an unsere Mitarbeitenden. Schreibt an support@berghain.de, wenn ihr im Nachhinein eine Erfahrung ansprechen möchtet.

Glaubt einander
Vertraut im Zweifelsfall der Darstellung Betroffener und helft anderen Menschen.

Vergesst nicht, nach Hause zu gehen
Schlaf ist unerlässlich und kein persönlicher Makel, Clubs sind laute Orte, eine Clubnacht ist kein Marathon – gönnt euren Körpern eine Pause. Wenn ihr geht, informiert eure Leute, oder lasst euch von vertrauenswürdigen Menschen begleiten. Erwägt die Nutzung eines Mitfahrdienstes mit registrierten Fahrern und vermeidet es, allein zu gehen.

Was du tun kannst, wenn du dich unwohl zu fühlen beginnst, oder von sexualisierter Gewalt betroffen bist

Suche sofort Hilfe bei anderen
Informiere deine Freund*innen, vertrauenswürdige Personen aus deinem Umfeld oder Fachleute und schildere ihnen jede Veränderung deines Zustands oder deiner Wahrnehmung. Bitte sie, bei dir zu bleiben, falls sich dein Zustand verschlechtert. Fordere Menschen, die du nicht in deine Nähe wissen möchtest, auf, die Situation zu verlassen – Täter können als vermeintliche Helfer auftreten.

Beziehe unsere Mitarbeitenden ein
Wende dich an unser Personal, egal ob Runner, Bar-, Garderobe- oder Türcrew. Sprich mit ihnen über deinen Zustand und was du weißt oder vermutest, was dazu geführt hat – sie werden dir helfen, Unterstützung rufen und dich gegebenenfalls in unserem Ruheraum im Erdgeschoss betreuen, oder medizinische Hilfe rufen.

Nimm ärztliche Hilfe in Anspruch
Wenn es die Umstände zulassen, lass dich medizinisch versorgen bzw. per Notruf an 112 ins Krankenhaus bringen, oder suche eine Arztpraxis auf. Wenn du das Gefühl hast, unter dem Einfluss von Date-Rape-Drogen bzw. K.O.-Tropen zu stehen – durch sogenanntes Drink- oder Needle-Spiking –, lass dich auf Rohypnol / Flunitrazepam, Fentanyl, Scopolamin, Propofol, GHB / GBL, Ketamin oder andere Downer testen. Verlange im Falle von körperlichen Verletzungen nach Medikamenten zur HIV- und Hepatitis-Postexpositionsprophylaxe. Gib gegenüber medizinischem Fachpersonal an, was du im Vorfeld der Verschlechterung deines Zustands bewusst konsumiert hast – Ärzt*innen unterliegen der ärztlichen Schweigepflicht, aber Informationen helfen ihnen, dir zu helfen.

Sichere Beweise
Untersuche deinen Körper auf Anzeichen äußerer Einwirkung – um Beweise von potenziellen Straftaten zu sichern, musst du schnell handeln. Lasse blaue Flecken, Einstichspuren, Körperflüssigkeiten (Urin, Schweiß, Speichel, Sperma) und ein vollständiges Blutbild von einer Fachperson festhalten. Viele Drogen lassen sich nur innerhalb sehr kurzer Zeit nach Verabreichung nachweisen. Dokumentiere alle Erinnerungen an die Zeit vor deinem Erlebnis als Gedächtnisprotokoll. Ziehe eine Anzeige bei der Polizei in Erwägung, wenn du dich dazu bereit fühlst – nur so können Verbrechen verfolgt und Täter strafrechtlich belangt werden.

Tausch dich mit anderen aus
Fühl dich nicht schlecht oder schuldig für das, was dir angetan wurde. Sprich mit Freund*innen. Suche professionellen Rat und Unterstützung – siehe unten. Wende dich mit deiner Erfahrung an support@berghain.de, damit wir daraus lernen und unsere eigenen Maßnahmen anpassen können.

Was du tun kannst, wenn andere Hilfe benötigen

Erfahre mehr und handle
Sprich die hilfsbedürftige Person an, frage, wie es ihr geht, ob sie Hilfe wünscht oder benötigt. Wenn du dir über den Zustand eines anderen Menschen unsicher bist, bitte andere, Hilfe durch unser Personal zu holen und bleibe selbst bei der betroffenen Person.

Teile deine Kontaktinformationen, aber respektiere persönliche Vorbehalte
Ihr kennt einander nicht, aber du hast Beobachtungen gemacht, die anderen helfen könnten? Biete an, deine Kontaktinformationen mit Betroffenen zu teilen. Respektiere, dass du anderen fremd begegnest und dein Angebot ausgeschlagen werden kann. Unter Freund*innen, lasst nie jemanden mit anderen alleine gehen, wenn sie euch unbekannt sind oder ihr jemand nicht vertraut.

Biete keine ‚Selbstmedikation‘ an
Biete niemals eine Substanz an, um den Zustand einer Person zu verändern, zu ‚verlangsamen‘ oder zu ‚verbessern‘. In fast allen Fällen verschlimmert oder verkompliziert dies die Situation.

Wähle 112
Wenn du sicher bist, dass jemand sofortige medizinische Hilfe benötigt, oder wenn sich der Zustand verschlechtert, wähle den Notruf.

Ressourcen zur psychischen und physischen Gesundheit

Gewaltschutzambulanz
Rechtsmedizinische Untersuchungsstelle für Berlin an der Charitè
Vertrauliche Spurensicherung, Terminvereinbarung Montag bis Freitag zwischen 8:30 und 15 Uhr, Untersuchungen zwischen 8 und 16 Uhr
DNA-Spuren können nur innerhalb der ersten 72 Stunden nach einer Tat gesichert werden

Birkenstraße 62, Haus N, 10559 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: 030-450570270

MVZ Laboratoriumsmedizin Berlin
Laboranalyse Blutbild, Dienstag und Donnerstag zwischen 10 und 14 Uhr
Ostseestr. 111, 10409 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: 030-400064862

Berliner Krisendienst
Unterstützung bei psychosozialen Problemen täglich zwischen 16 und 24 Uhr, überregionaler Bereitschaftsdienst von Mitternacht bis 8 Uhr, an Wochenenden und Feiertagen zwischen 8 und 16 Uhr
Große Hamburger Straße 5, 10115 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: 030-3906310

LARA - Fachstelle gegen sexualisierte Gewalt an Frauen*
Beratung und Begleitung für weibliche* Opfer sexualisierter Gewalt, Montag bis Freitag zwischen 09 und 18 Uhr
Tel. 030-2168888

MUT-Traumahilfe für Männer*
Beratung und Begleitung für männliche* Opfer sexualisierter Gewalt, nach Terminvereinbarung
Tel: 030-23633978

Opferhilfe Berlin
Beratung und Unterstützung von Opfern und Zeug*innen von Straftaten, nach Terminvereinbarung Montag bis Freitag zwischen 10 und 13 Uhr, Dienstag und Donnerstag zwischen 15 und 18 Uhr
Oldenburger Str. 38, 10551 Berlin
OpenStreetMap
Tel: 030-3952867

Drogennotdienst Berlin
Partydrogensprechstunde mit Informationen, Beratung und Safer Use, 24-Stunden-Hotline
Tel: 030-19237

Heimwegtelefon
Telefonische Begleitung auf deinem Heimweg, egal wo, Sonntag bis Donnerstag zwischen 20 Uhr und Mitternacht, Freitag und Samstag zwischen 20 und 3 Uhr
Tel: +49-30-12074182

Der Inhalt dieser Seite dient nur Informationszwecken und erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, Aktualität oder Richtigkeit.