ostgutcd13

Ben Klock
Berghain 04

Loading...

When it comes to Berlin’s Berghain and its myth, we all know the deal by now: techno, concrete, marathon dances. Fact or fiction, Berghain 04 comes in the nick of time. It is impossible to reduce Ben Klock’s musical vision and especially his work as a DJ. Stereotypes and close-minded genre definitions have never been wished-for by the protagonists (Berghain and Klock) anyway and they won’t help you here. After contributions by André Galluzi, Marcel Dettmann and Len Faki, Berghain 04 avoids any hints of a one-dimensional attitude. Ben Klock seems not to care about classifications, about the limits and differences of techno and house, if something fits into the dubstep formula or if a record is in line with the scheme of an almighty and dominating bass drum. The Berghain resident is just doing what always separated a brilliant DJ from a good one: Klock adopts the music as his own.

Literally, Ben Klock’s debut mixed CD is a cornucopia of new, unreleased and exclusive pieces. Bass music hero Martyn delivers one of his clunky hybrids, Berlin’s best kept secret Roman Lindau presents breathtaking, chrome-plated dub techno and a new player by the name of ACT surprises and amazes all at the same time. You will hear fantastic novelties by Rolando, New York’s very own Levon Vincent, Klockworks artist and Minneapolis genius DVS1 and of course by Ben Klock himself. On the one hand, an astonishing melodic and engaging track called “Compression Session 1” and on the other one “Elfin Flight”. An unwound collaboration with Elif Biçer and a perfect lead to the levitating and grand finale.

Klock turns all these ingredients into one long and harmonic blend. Without any sign of hectic or nervous breaks, but not without thrilling moments, peaks or valleys, turning points, Berghain 04 primes its listener for the climax of a long night out: the disappearance of space, time and the outside world. Akin to his album “One”, Ben Klock combines his classic appreciation of music, melody and hidden hook lines with the anonymity of solid machine sounds.

These comparisons might be drawn with a worn-out pen, just like all the insufficient adjectives used to describe Berghain’s magic, but that is exactly what is achieved here. Ben Klock gets effortlessly and truthfully to the heart of a sound, a feeling and most of all an aesthetic. Berghain techno soul.

Text: Gerd Janson

Tracklist

Tracks CD

  1. 154 – Apricot
  2. DVS1 – Pressure previously
  3. Junior Boys – Work (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
  4. STL – Loop 04
  5. Levon Vincent – The Long Life
  6. Jonas Kopp – Michigan Lake
  7. ACT – RoHd
  8. Mikhail Breen – Veracity
  9. DVS1 – Confused
  10. Rolando – De Cago
  11. Kevin Gorman – 7am Stepper
  12. Ben Klock – Compression Session 1
  13. Roman Lindau – Keppra
  14. Tyree – Nuthin Wrong
  15. The Echologist – Dirt (Ben Klock Edit)
  16. James Ruskin – Graphic
  17. Ben Klock feat. Elif Biçer – Elfin Flight
  18. Rolando – Junie

Release date

June 28, 2010

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

ostgutcd13

Ben Klock
Berghain 04

Wird geladen...

Das um sich greifende Referenzmodell des Berghain und dessen internationale Interpretation ist mittlerweile klar: Techno, Beton, Marathon. Da kommt Berghain 04 gerade zur rechten Zeit. Die musikalische Vision von Ben Klock und vor allem seine DJ-Sets lassen sich nicht einfach auf ein – von den Protagonisten selbst so ohnehin nie propagiertes – Briefmarken-großes Klischee dezimieren. Berghain 04 schließt nach André Galluzi, Marcel Dettmann und zuletzt Len Faki erneut jegliche Eindimensionalitäten aus. Für den Berghain Resident Ben Klock scheint es nicht von Bedeutung zu sein, ob ein Stück House oder Techno ist, in das Schema von Dubstep passt oder einer Formel des alles dominierenden Bassschlags entspricht. Er macht das, was die brillanten DJs schon immer von den guten unterscheidet: sich die Musik zu Eigen.

Und das im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Klocks erste Mix-CD ist ein Füllhorn exklusiver bzw. bisher unveröffentlichter Stücke. Bassmusik Heroe Martyn steuert eines seiner Hybridmonster bei, Roman Lindau präsentiert als Berliner Geheimtipp atemberaubenden und verchromten Dub-Techno, ein Novum namens ACT lässt Münder klaffen; es gibt fantastische Neuheiten von Rolando, New York’s Eigenbrödler Levon Vincent oder dem Minneapolis Genius und Klockworks Künstler DVS1 sowie eigenes Material von Ben Klock. Zum Beispiel die wunderbar melodiöse und einnehmende „Compression Session 1“ oder „Elfin Flight“ mit Elif Biçer, das in seiner Entspanntheit perfekt auf das schwerelose Ende des Mixes vorbereitet.

In Klocks Händen finden sich all diese Bestandteile in einem langen, harmonischen Fluss wieder, der ohne Hektik oder nervöse Bruchstellen, aber mit Spannungsmomenten, Stromschnellen und Steigerungen auf das vorbereitet, was normalerweise im besten Fall nach einer langen Schicht im Club passiert: die Auflösung von Zeit, Raum und der Welt da draußen. Klock vereint wie schon auf seinem Album „One“ ein klassisches Verständnis von Musik und einen Hang zu Melodien und versteckten Hooks mit der Anonymität standhafter Maschinensounds.

Diese Vergleiche mögen so abgegriffen sein wie all jene unzulänglichen Adjektive, die dem Berghain zugeteilt werden, aber nichts weniger ist Ben Klock gelungen. Ein Mix, der einen Sound, ein Gefühl und vor allem eine Ästhetik ohne Schwulst perfekt auf den Punkt bringt. Berghain Techno Soul.

Text: Gerd Janson

Tracklist

Tracks CD

  1. 154 – Apricot
  2. DVS1 – Pressure previously
  3. Junior Boys – Work (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
  4. STL – Loop 04
  5. Levon Vincent – The Long Life
  6. Jonas Kopp – Michigan Lake
  7. ACT – RoHd
  8. Mikhail Breen – Veracity
  9. DVS1 – Confused
  10. Rolando – De Cago
  11. Kevin Gorman – 7am Stepper
  12. Ben Klock – Compression Session 1
  13. Roman Lindau – Keppra
  14. Tyree – Nuthin Wrong
  15. The Echologist – Dirt (Ben Klock Edit)
  16. James Ruskin – Graphic
  17. Ben Klock feat. Elif Biçer – Elfin Flight
  18. Rolando – Junie

Release Date

28. Juni 2010

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich