o-ton 107

Etapp Kyle
Alpha

Loading...

It goes without saying that space has always been central to Techno – both in terms of its cosmic and futuristic trajectory, as well as in the spatial dimensions of sonic elements.
Etapp Kyle’s first full Ostgut Ton EP release sees the Ukrainian-born, Berlin-based Berghain resident emphasizing the connection between the two, while avoiding Techno’s overt intergalactic clichés.

On his follow-up to last year's Continuum EP (Unterton, 2016), Etapp offers four tracks of pristine, sci-fi minimalism, propelled by Ambient synths and percussive explosions in distant skies – more utopian than dystopian. Opener “Alpha” establishes the cosmic theme from the get go, with chord swells and a whirring, phasing spacewind panning across the stereo image. While a subdued kickdrum gets things started, it’s the rhythmic interplay between dynamic high-hats and halled-out rimshots that guide the track through space. From there, “Quantum” on A2 strips the voyage down to a glowing, unwavering arpeggiated synth line, interspersed with twisted, high-pitched bells and updated 909- esque snare patters.

Etapp Kyle’s deep, bleepy minimalism continues with “Source” on the flipside, where morphing hats and an atmospheric two chord progression lay the foundation for an interlocking array of rhythms. On closer “Ritual”, things take a different turn entirely, as a dirge-like drone resounds across a colossal sonic expanse. Eventually, ASMR-inducing vinyl crackle and miniscule syncopated rhythms fill in the galactic details. A booming, tribal timpani completes the kick-drums in each measure, while shakers hold a groove.

As a producer, Etapp Kyle manages to create atmosphere through an ear for detail and extreme precision. Here, his mix of minute, hallucinatory rhythmic elements and sonic spatial exploration project the tracks beyond the big room to Techno’s biggest room: the universe.

Tracklist

Tracks VINYL

A1. Alpha

A2. Quantum

B1. Source

B2. Ritual

Links

Artwork

Artwork by Matteo Greco

Release date

September 08, 2017

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

o-ton 107

Etapp Kyle
Alpha

Wird geladen...

Es versteht sich von selbst, dass der (Welt)Raum schon immer ein zentrales Motiv von Techno war – sowohl in Hinsicht auf kosmische und futuristische Aspekte, als auch auf die räumlichen Dimensionen akustischer Elemente. Mit seinem ersten Ostgut Ton-EP-Release betont der ukrainische, in Berlin lebende Berghain-Resident Etapp Kyle die Schnittmengen genannter Begriffe, vermeidet dabei aber die offensichtlichen intergalaktischen Klischees von Techno.

Teils an seine Continuum EP (Unterton, 2016) anknüpfend stehen als Resultat vier Stücke makellosen Sci-Fi-Minimalismus, angetrieben von Ambient-Synths und perkussiven Explosionen in entfernten Stratosphären – mehr utopisch denn dystopisch. Der Opener „Alpha“ baut das kosmische Thema von Beginn an auf: schwellende Akkorde mit rauschenden, sich überlagernden Himmelsstürmen ziehen sich durch das Stereobild. Während eine gedämpfte Kickdrum den Anfang macht, ist es die rhythmische Wechselwirkung zwischen dynamischen Hi-Hats und halllastigen Rimshots, die das Stück durch den Raum trägt. „Quantum“ auf A2 bricht die Reise runter auf ein glühendes, unbeirrtes Synth-Arpeggio, durchsetzt mit verzerrten, hochgepitchten Glöckchen und 909-haften Snare-Motiven.

Etapp Kyles deeper, Bleep-verliebter Minimalismus setzt sich mit „Source“ auf der B-Seite fort, wo morphende Hi-Hats und eine atmosphärische zwei-Akkord-Sequenz die Basis für eine ineinandergreifende Anordnung von Rhythmen legen. Mit dem Schlusspunkt „Ritual“ nehmen die Dinge eine gänzlich andere Wendung, wenn Grabgesang-gleiche Drones zu überdimensional-sonischen Ausbreitungen widerhallen. Schließlich füllen ASMR-induzierendes Vinylknistern und minimale, synkopierte Rhythmen die galaktischen Details hinzu. Dröhnende, tribalistische Pauken komplettieren die Kickdrum im Takt während das Schüttelrohr den Groove trägt.

Als Produzent beherrscht es Etapp Kyle, Atmosphäre durch ein Ohr für musikalisches Detail und extreme Präzision zu erzeugen. Seine Mischung aus kleinteiliger, halluzinatorischer Rhythmik und klanglich-räumlicher Sondierung projiziert die einzelnen Stücke vom ‚big room‘ bis über Technos größten Raum hinaus: das Universum.

Tracklist

Tracks VINYL

A1. Alpha

A2. Quantum

B1. Source

B2. Ritual

Links

Artwork

Artwork by Matteo Greco

Release Date

08. September 2017

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich