1
2
OSTGUTCD49/LP35

JASSS
A World Of Service

Loading...
Also available at

Giving form to a broad personal project of continuous inquiry and existential expression, A World Of Service marks the Ostgut Ton debut of Spanish producer, DJ and artist JASSS aka Silvia Jiménez Alvarez.

The evolution of A World Of Service has curved around genre collapsing and unexpected metamorphoses. Formerly the name of the monthly radio show JASSS hosted in Berlin, and soon to be the title of her expansive multi-sensory touring concept in collaboration with Ben Kreukniet, here A World Of Service is powerfully concentrated in sonic form. Throughout the album JASSS muses on the especially current human and technological barriers to interconnectivity; both lyrically and musically she deconstructs the self, unmasks anxieties and interrogates the insufficiencies of language as applied to gender, identity and interpersonal relationships. Forming her own fluid, nuanced lexicon in response, JASSS seeks a deeper understanding of her multiple selves, emerging through unbridled adolescent rage and the wisdom of maturation, traversing liminality with abstract electronics and baroque industrial pop. Visually this is underscored by Matt Lambert’s uncanny floral cover portraiture, as well as the record’s distinct scent of wet earth, flower and woods developed for the album by Meri Bonastre and applied to the vinyl innersleeve.

Following the imaginative nostalgia of Weightless, her 2017 debut album for iDEAL Recordings, as well as her blistering dancefloor 12” for Whities / AD 93, A World Of Service folds personal and societal concepts in on themselves, not seeking answers but rather luxuriating in the unique friction that questions create. JASSS is intensely focused yet musically unbridled; this is reflected in tonal shifts of A World Of Service. Through the computerised yearning and bruising of a heartbreak on “Luis”, to the jagged and wordless tundra of “Vapor Dentro”; the intriguing juxtaposition of warm, alluring Spanish vocals against rigid pillars of industrial heft and bass grind (“Camelo”), and the soaring maximalist industrial pop of the album’s closer, “Wish.”

As intensity rises through the pandemic-era trip hop of the album’s title track “A World Of Service”, JASSS sings:

Pleasure /
Is nowhere to be found inside this world of service /
I call to be my life.


Pleasure may remain elusive to her, but in the determination to make peace with her various identities in this technological age, JASSS offers a compelling glimpse into an essential type of artistic voice.

— Text: Christine Kakaire

Tracklist

1. / A1. Birds You Can Name
2. / A2. Camelo
3. / A3. Luis
4. / A4. Busto

5. / B1. A World Of Service
6. / B2. In Your Mouth
7. / B3. Vapor Dentro
8. / B4. Wish

12" vinyl LP includes additional digital download on download card.
All pre-orders include singles “A World Of Service” and “Camelo” as an instant download.
Full digital and physical release November 26, 2021.

Guest appearances

Additional production on “Wish” by Ziúr and James Ginzburg

Artwork

Cover and artwork photography: Matt Lambert | Layout: Yusuf Etiman
Florals: Anatomie Fleur
Make-up: Christian Fritzenwanker and Mario Mendez
Scent: Fum de Kyphi

Credits

Special thanks to Avril Ceballos, Luisor and Alex Samuels

All tracks written and produced by Silvia Jiménez Alvarez
Mastering: Liam McLean | Mixing: James Ginzburg
Published by OstGut Verlag

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

1
2
OSTGUTCD49/LP35

JASSS
A World Of Service

Wird geladen...
Auch erhältlich bei

A World Of Service ist das Ostgut Ton-Debüt der spanischen Producerin, DJ und Künstlerin JASSS alias Silvia Jiménez Alvarez, die hiermit ein breit gefächertes, persönliches Projekt kontinuierlicher Erkundung und existenziellen Ausdrucks verwirklicht.

Die Entwicklung von A World Of Service dreht sich um den Zerfall von Genres und unerwarteten Metamorphosen. Ursprünglich war es der Name einer monatlichen Radioshow, die JASSS in Berlin moderierte, bald wird es der Titel ihres umfangreichen, multisensorischen Tourkonzepts in Zusammenarbeit mit Ben Kreukniet sein, und hier ist A World Of Service kraftvoll klanglich konzentriert. Während des gesamten Albums sinniert JASSS über die gerade aktuellen menschlichen und technologischen Barrieren zur Interkonnektivität: Sowohl textlich als auch musikalisch dekonstruiert sie das Selbst, demaskiert Ängste und hinterfragt die Unzulänglichkeiten der Sprache in Bezug auf Geschlecht, Identität und zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen. Indem sie als Antwort darauf ihr eigenes fließendes, nuanciertes Lexikon formt, sucht JASSS nach einem tieferen Verständnis ihres multiplen Selbst, das durch ungezügelte jugendliche Wut und die Weisheit von Reife entsteht, die Liminalität mit abstrakter Elektronik und barockem Industrial Pop durchquerend. Visuell unterstrichen wird dies durch Matt Lamberts unheimliches, florales Coverporträt sowie den unverwechselbaren Duft von feuchter Erde, Blumen und Hölzern, den Meri Bonastre für das Album entwickelt hat und auf der Innenhülle des Vinyl aufgetragen wurde.

Auf die fantasievolle Nostalgie ihrem Debütalbums Weightless [iDEAL Recordings, 2017] sowie ihre fulminante 12" für Whities / AD 93 folgend, hebt A World Of Service persönliche und gesellschaftliche Konzepte unter, sucht nicht nach Antworten, sondern schwelgt in der einzigartigen Spannung, die von Fragen erzeugt wird. JASSS ist höchst fokussiert doch musikalisch ungezügelt, was sich in den klanglichen Veränderungen von A World Of Service widerspiegelt: Von der computerisierten Sehnsucht und dem Zerschmettern eines gebrochenen Herzens in „Luis“ über die zerklüftete und wortlose Tundra von „Vapor Dentro“, der faszinierenden Gegenüberstellung von warmem, verführerischen spanischen Gesang zu starren Stelen aus muskulösem Industrial und Bass-Grind („Camelo“) bis hin zum erhebenden, maximalistischen Industrial-Pop von „Wish“, dem Closer des Albums.

Mit steigender Intensität durch den Pandemie-Ära-Trip-Hop des Titeltracks „A World Of Service“ singt JASSS:

Pleasure /
Is nowhere to be found inside this world of service /
I call to be my life.


‚Pleasure‘, Vergnügen also, mag ihr trügerisch erscheinen, aber in ihrer Entschlossenheit, in diesem technologischen Zeitalter mit ihren verschiedenen Identitäten Frieden zu schließen, bietet JASSS einen unwiderstehlichen Einblick in eine essentielle künstlerischer Stimme.

— Text: Christine Kakaire

Tracklist

1. / A1. Birds You Can Name
2. / A2. Camelo
3. / A3. Luis
4. / A4. Busto

5. / B1. A World Of Service
6. / B2. In Your Mouth
7. / B3. Vapor Dentro
8. / B4. Wish

12" vinyl LP includes additional digital download on download card.
All pre-orders include singles “A World Of Service” and “Camelo” as an instant download.
Full digital and physical release November 26, 2021.

Gäste

Additional production on “Wish” by Ziúr and James Ginzburg

Artwork

Cover and artwork photography: Matt Lambert | Layout: Yusuf Etiman
Florals: Anatomie Fleur
Make-up: Christian Fritzenwanker and Mario Mendez
Scent: Fum de Kyphi

Credits

Special thanks to Avril Ceballos, Luisor and Alex Samuels

All tracks written and produced by Silvia Jiménez Alvarez
Mastering: Liam McLean | Mixing: James Ginzburg
Published by OstGut Verlag

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich