Various Artists


Ostgut Ton releases this unique compilation of music crafted from field recordings made inside the two Berlin clubs Berghain and Panorama Bar. The concept and original recordings were made by the Berlin based producer Emika. Over a period of two months Emika created the recordings in the clubs while they were closed to the public and edited them into a library of sounds. The library was then given to all the Ostgut Ton artists, but also to club associates like DJ Pete aka Substance, Dinky, Cassy, Margaret Dygas, Ryan Elliott and Scuba using his SCB alias, to make music with. This release marks the celebration of the label's five year anniversary.

Emika's idea started from feeling the whole building resonating from the music being played, which lead to the question: which sounds exist here when there is no party? Intrigued by stories of how the club spaces and sound systems influence the resident DJ sets and productions, Emika was curious to explore what music could be made from the building itself. Berghain’s sound technicians Krischan Makswitat and Silvio König, helped to record the entire light rig including the strobe lights, which in itself sounds techno. Other interesting sources to record were the large cooling rooms used for storing thousands of drinks in bottles. The ventilation systems in these rooms make incredible sub frequencies mixed with the sound of the bottles vibrating against each other. The club also contains large swings made from metal which creak and moan at the slightest of movements.

In total the library comprised over four gigabytes of sounds, and the artists were not given restrictions on how to make music from the library. The tracks on this compilation consist of each artists signature production aesthetics and feature debut solo productions by our residents Fiedel (one half of seminal Berlin based outfit MMM), Boris and Prosumer’s long term production partner Tama Sumo. All together this release highlights the special and inseparable relationships between the label, club space, and collective of artists.

The 7 vinyl LP box is limited to 1500 copies.

Emika | Cooling Room


Tracks CD


  1. Emika – Cooling Room
  2. Marcel Fengler – Shiraz
  3. Prosumer – Daybreak
  4. Substance – Gestalts
  5. Ryan Elliott – Abatis
  6. Nick Höppner – ISP
  7. Marcel Dettmann – Shelter (CD only)
  8. Fiedel – Doors To Manual
  9. Shed – Boom Room
  10. Steffi – My Room
  11. Dinky – Twelve To Four
  12. Len Faki – Kraft Und Licht


  1. Barker & Baumecker – Drin
  2. Marcel Dettmann – Scourer
  3. SCB – Down Moment
  4. Tama Sumo – Iron Glance
  5. Murat Tepeli feat. Elif Biçer – Hold On
  6. Soundstream – Wenn Meine Mutti Wüsste
  7. Cassy – Never Give Up On A Mood Swing
  8. Ben Klock – Bear (CD only)
  9. Norman Nodge – Start Up
  10. Luke Slater – Boom Tang Shwuck
  11. Boris – Rem
  12. Margaret Dygas – Quintet (CD only)

Tracks VINYL

A1: Emika – Cooling Room

A2: Marcel Fengler – Shiraz

B1: Substance – Gestalts

B2: Ben Klock – Wolf (Vinyl only)

C: Shed – Boom Room

D2: Cassy – Never Give Up On A Mood Swing

D1: Fiedel – Doors To Manual

E: Dinky – Twelve To Four

F1: Nick Höppner – ISP

F2: Soundstream – Wenn Meine Mutti Wüsste

G: Boris – Rem

H1: Marcel Dettmann – Scourer

H2: Steffi – My Room

I: Margaret Dygas – For Five (Vinyl only)

J1: Murat Tepeli feat. Elif Biçer – Hold On

J2: Prosumer – Daybreak

K: Luke Slater – Boom Tang Shwuck

L1: Barker & Baumecker – Drin

L2: Ryan Elliott – Abatis

M1: SCB – Down Moment

M2: Tama Sumo – Iron Glance

N1: Len Faki – Kraft und Licht

N2: Norman Nodge – Start Up


Release date

October 25, 2010

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter