1
2
3
A-TON LP11

Emeka Ogboh Beyond The Yellow Haze

Loading...
Also available at

Beyond The Yellow Haze is the debut release by Nigerian sound and installation artist Emeka Ogboh on Ostgut Ton sublabel A-TON. Combining subtle layers of ambient electronics, dance music and field recordings from the city of Lagos, Ogboh’s compositions reflect both the Nigerian city’s soundscapes as well as the artist’s increasing immersion in electronic music since moving to Berlin six years ago.

Like his sound installation Ayilara for Berghain’s main floor in the current STUDIO BERLIN exhibition, Beyond The Yellow Haze contains a veritable atonal orchestra of honking, motors, sound systems, sidewalk sales pitches and various sonic artifacts of Lagos’s Danfo bus stations and beyond. These serve as both punctuation and swirling atmosphere within a kaleidoscope of bass and polyrhythms. The unpredictable result is at once place-specific and geographically indefinable. A city in situ – and processed in memory and rhythm very far away.

The recordings were originally included as part of Ogboh’s 2018 exhibition No Condition Is Permanent at Galerie Imane Farès and self-released as a stamped and signed artist edition. Beyond The Yellow Haze will be released on A-TON as a 2x12'' LP on black vinyl and in digital formats.

Born in 1977, Emeka Ogboh’s artistic practice focuses on ethico-poltical questions through sound, food and scent. His diverse body of work includes installation, video, photography and beer and has been featured in documenta 14, the Venice Biennale, the Brooklyn Museum and the American National Museum of African Art, amongst others. He lives and works in Lagos and Berlin.

Tracklist

  • Lekki Aiah Freeway
  • Danfo Mellow
  • Everydaywehustlin
  • Palm Groove
  • Outro

Artwork

Artwork: Emeka Ogboh. Layout: Yusuf Etiman.

Credits

Mastering: Moritz Illner. Duophonic, Augsburg (1-4). Helmut Erler, Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin (5).

Release date

January 15, 2021

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

1
2
3
A-TON LP11

Emeka Ogboh
Beyond The Yellow Haze

Wird geladen...
Also available at

Beyond The Yellow Haze ist die Debüt-Veröffentlichung des nigerianischen Sound- und Installationskünstlers Emeka Ogboh auf Ostgut Tons Sublabel A-TON. Ogboh überlagert in dem Album subtile Elemente aus elektronischer Ambient- und Dance-Musik mit Field Recordings der Stadt Lagos – ein Ergebnis seiner zunehmenden Auseinandersetzung mit elektronischer Musik seit seinem Umzug nach Berlin vor sechs Jahren.

Ein Wechsel zwischen musikalischer Akzentuierung und atmosphärischem Wirbel, ein synthetisches Kaleidoskop aus Bässen und Polyrhythmen: Ogboh kreiert in Beyond The Yellow Haze ein atonales Orchester aus Hupen, Motorgeräuschen, Soundsystemen, Verkaufsgesprächen auf Bürgersteigen und diversen Klangartefakten der Danfo-Busbahnhöfe in Lagos. Das unberechenbare Resultat ist einerseits unverortbar, andererseits ortsgebunden. Es lässt sich als rhythmische Aufarbeitung einer weit entfernten Erinnerung der nigerianischen Metropole beschreiben – ein Prinzip, das er auch in Bezug auf seine Sound-Installation Ayilara für den Berghain-Dancefloor im Rahmen der Ausstellung STUDIO BERLIN anwendet.

Die Musik von Beyond The Yellow Haze war ursprünglich Teil seiner Einzelausstellung No Condition Is Permanent, die 2018 in der Galerie Imane Farès gezeigt wurde, welche Ogboh als gestempelte und signierte Künstlerausgabe selbst herausbrachte. Beyond The Yellow Haze wird auf A-TON als 2x12'' LP auf schwarzem Vinyl und digital veröffentlicht.

Emeka Ogboh wurde 1977 geboren. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis setzt er sich mit ethisch-politischen Fragen auseinander. Sein Oeuvre umfasst Sound, Installation, Video, Fotografie, aber auch Essen, Gerüche und Bier. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem auf der documenta 14, der Biennale von Venedig, dem Brooklyn Museum und dem American National Museum of African Art gezeigt. Ogboh lebt und arbeitet in Lagos und Berlin.

Tracklist

  • Lekki Aiah Freeway
  • Danfo Mellow
  • Everydaywehustlin
  • Palm Groove
  • Outro

Artwork

Artwork: Emeka Ogboh. Layout: Yusuf Etiman.

Credits

Mastering: Moritz Illner. Duophonic, Augsburg (1-4). Helmut Erler, Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin (5).

Release Date

15. Januar 2021

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich