1
2
o-ton 61

Marcel Dettmann
Range EP

Loading...

Itʼs hard to believe that the last Marcel Dettmann 12“ on Ostgut Ton, the „Translation EP“, was released over a year ago already, as its frequent presence on the dancefloors is still ongoing. With an impressive back catalogue on Ostgut Ton, Marcel spent the last year cementing his status as one of the leading Techno DJs and despite his high workload, impresses again and again with innovative and uncompromising quality sets. Now he delivers new original material on his mother label and again sets standards with his unique style.

The dark brooding atmospheres of the first track „Range“ set the mood of this EP with prodigious and strangely affecting sounds that seem to filter straight out of a machine driven future. The journey continues with the menacing beat of „Iso“ with percussion and hiss that keep a deep underground feel.

On the B-Side Dettmann opens with „Push“, a layered robotic vocal reaches out from the depths and the driven beat and flanged hi-hats whip up a subtle frenzy until „Allies“ - a track featured on Ben Klockʼs recent Fabric Mix - surprises with a jacking groove. The mood is light by Dettmann standards, halfway through the track a bittersweet synth expanse adds a new angle that seems to envelope the listener for a comfortable final moment before the EP closes.

Tracklist

  • Range
  • Iso
  • Push
  • Allies

Release date

November 26, 2011

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

1
2
o-ton 61

Marcel Dettmann
Range EP

Wird geladen...

Marcel Dettmannʼs letzte 12“ für Ostgut Ton, die „Translation EP“, ist nach über einem Jahr noch immer auf den Tanzflächen präsent. Dettmann festigte im letzten Jahr seinen Status als einer der gefragtesten Techno-DJs weiter und liefert hier erneut beeindruckendes Material für sein Stammlabel Ostgut Ton ab. Die vier Tracks der „Range EP“ beweisen wieder einmal, dass Marcel nicht nur bei seinen DJ Sets auf innovative Sounds setzt.

Die düstere Atmosphäre des ersten Tracks „Range“ verströmt mit Hilfe von gezielten Akzenten und Sounds eine Stimmung, die aus einer fernen Zukunft zu stammen scheint. Die Reise geht mit „Iso“ in subterrane Tiefen weiter – ein unerbittlicher Beat zieht stoisch seine Bahnen und gibt den einzigen Anhalt in der fauchenden Dunkelheit.

Auf der B-Seite „Push“ schraubt sich ein vielschichtiges, artifizielles Vocal empor, das von strengen Beats und HiHats langsam aber sicher in den Wahnsinn getrieben wird. Zum Abschluss der EP präsentiert Dettmann das für seine Verhältnisse eher leichtfüßige „Allies“, ein Track der schon auf dem neuen Fabric-Mix von Ben Klock zu hören war. Marcel kontrastiert hier einen jackenden Groove mit melancholisch gefärbten Harmonien, die dieser kompromisslosen EP einen ruhigen Ausklang bescheren.

Tracklist

  • Range
  • Iso
  • Push
  • Allies

Release Date

26. November 2011

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich