o-ton 116

Norman Nodge
Embodiment EP

Loading...

After a seven-year hiatus, the longtime Berghain resident Norman Nodge is back with four new tracks of deep, narcotic techno. Hailing from Brandenburg, Nodge spent the 90s as a DJ and promoter before becoming a Berghain resident in 2005. Since then he has occupied a special place in Berlin techno with a sound that is at once forceful, dubby and hypnotic, evident not only on his Berghain 06 mix and various 12”s and compilation contributions for Ostgut Ton, but also on EPs for Marcel Dettmann’s MDR imprint.

A lawyer by trade, on Embodiment EP Nodge reflects on decades of observing how dancers develop an intuitive relationship to music and process new sounds. “Tacit Knowing” (A1) is a nod to the feedback loop between the instincts of dancer and producer, combining bassline, breakbeats and Detroit-like strings, which subtly develop into a cavernous techno roller. In contrast, “Discipline” (A2) is aggressive, updated peaktime acid packed with the sounds of metal and overdriven snares.

On the flipside, “Gathering” (B1) is a bongo-heavy tribal groover, while “Embodiment” references a more halcyon Ostgut Ton aesthetic – one that resonates not only in the space of the club but also within the bodies of those occupying it.

Tracklist

01. Tacit Knowing
02. Discipline
03. Gathering
04. Embodiment

Artwork

Eva Vuillemin | Yusuf Etiman [Layout]

Credits

Tim Xavier at Manmade Mastering, Berlin
Mixed by Rifts

Release date

November 23, 2018

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

o-ton 116

Norman Nodge
Embodiment EP

Wird geladen...

Nach gut siebeneinhalb Jahren gibt es endlich wieder eine neue EP des langjährigen Berghain-Residents Norman Nodge; Embodiment verkörpert vier neue Stücke deepen und berauschenden Technos. Aufgewachsen in Brandenburg verbrachte Nodge die Neunziger als DJ und Promoter, 2005 begann seine Residency im Berghain. Seitdem nimmt er eine Sonderstellung innerhalb Berlin Technos ein, mit einem Sound, der sowohl kraftvoll, dubbig und hypnotisch ist – kann man nachhören in seinem Berghain 06-Mix und auf verschiedenen 12”es sowie Compilation-Beiträgen auf Ostgut Ton, als auch auf den EPs für Marcel Dettmanns MDR-Label.

Bei Tage Anwalt reflektiert Nodge auf Embodiment EP seine dekadenspannenden nächtlichen Beobachtungen, wie Tanzende eine intuitive Beziehung zur Musik entwickeln und neue Klänge verarbeiten. „Tacit Knowing“ (A1) ist eine Anspielung auf den Feedbackloop zwischen den Instinkten eines Tänzers und DJs, kombiniert Bassline, Breakbeats und Detroit-mäßige Streicher, die sich subtil zu einem kavitösen Techno-Brett wandeln. Kontrast: „Discipline“ (A2) ist aggressiver, aktualisierter Peaktime Acid voll Klängen metallischer Sounds und übersteuerter Snares.

Andererseits ist „Gathering“auf B1 ein bongolastiger Tribal-Groover, während das titelgebende Stück „Embodiment“ eine alkyonischere Ostgut Ton-Ästhetik referenziert – eine, die nicht nur mit dem Raum im Klub nachhallt, sondern auch mit den Körpern derer, die diesen besetzen.

Tracklist

01. Tacit Knowing
02. Discipline
03. Gathering
04. Embodiment

Artwork

Eva Vuillemin | Yusuf Etiman [Layout]

Credits

Tim Xavier at Manmade Mastering, Berlin
Mixed by Rifts

Release Date

23. November 2018

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich