ostgutcd10

Tama Sumo
Panorama Bar 02

Loading...

Some djs put their nuts on the the turntables and some their hearts – Tama Sumo definitely lays her heart down. She is among Berlin’s house djs winning people over with her very own style and refreshing charisma. Her lextended sunday afternoon sets at Panorama Bar are extremely varied musically, ranging from Techno, Disco, Vintage Electro and a pinch of Pop, however House is always at the gravitational centre. Sometimes it’s hard to put a finger on a dj’s specialty, but with Tama Sumo, a surplus of emotions and open-mindedness can easily be detected. She manages to transfer these skills onto the dancefloor creating a special atmosphere of sexiness garnsished with an essential dose of dirt. After Cassy launched the Panorama Bar mix series three years ago, it is up to Tama Sumo to carry on the torch.
On her approach to producing the latest Panorama mix, Tama Sumo says: „Similar to djing in a club, it has been improtant for me to create this mix with an emotional, rough and powerfull house blueprint able to counter the ominpresent easy-to-get functionality of today.“ Accordingly, her mix is a rather personal statement. Furthermore, itt has been important for her to ask producers she’s friends with and others whose music she adores respectively. Similar to Marcel Dettmann’s and Len Faki’s and approach for „Berghain 02 & 03“. Tama has been able to secure a handfull of exclusive tracks.

Apart from the excellent tracks by Basic Soul Unit, Lerosa, Levon Vincent and Steffi, which we’re releasing on vinyl (Ostgut Ton 28&29), Panorama Bar 02 also contains exclusive and previously unreleased material by Shed, Soundstream and Tama Sumo herself teaming up with Prosumer.

Tama Sumo is not only focusing on her direct Berlin based surroundings. She is also embracing components which have been influential for her in the past few years. There’s Tin Man’s whispering pop, deep house by John Daly, John Roberts, Trus’Me and Kassem Mosse; there’s the Detroit techno of Redshape’s interpretation of Newworldaquarium’s „Trespassers“, the vintage house of Marcus Mixx with a mix by Ron Hardy, XDB’s and Mike Huckaby’s dub techno and there’s the over the top pop of Ost & Kjex. There are unjustifiedly rare gems in this mix, tracks one doesn’t get to hear mixed in clubs or cds often. „The dramaturgy of this mix was really important to me. I wanted to have an easy, yet soulful beginning, a slow ascent towards more ecstatic terriortories, a lillte pinch of pop and then end it clamly again. After all, this is the typical Panorama Bar feeling for me.“

Tracklist

Tracks CD

  1. Tin Man – Constant Confusion
  2. John Daly – Birds
  3. Nina Kraviz – Voices (Jenifa Mayanja Remix)
  4. Steffi – 24 Hours (Exclusive)
  5. Lerosa – Plesso (Exclusive)
  6. Prosumer & Murat Tepeli – U & I
  7. John Roberts – Blame
  8. Trus’ Me – W.A.R. Dub
  9. Kassem Mosse – Zolarem
  10. Shed – Stiff Job (previously unreleased)
  11. Newworldaquarium – Trespassers (Redshape Trespassed Mix)
  12. Mike Huckaby – Wavetable No.9
  13. XDB – Jet
  14. Levon Vincent – Late Night Jam (Exclusive)
  15. Lucretio – Good Words
  16. The Oliverwho Factory – Together
  17. Basic Soul Unit – Things Pass (Exclusive)
  18. Marcus Mixx – Without Makeup (Ron Hardy Mix)
  19. Ost & Kjex – Continental Lover
  20. Tama Sumo & Prosumer – Alien Mutts (previously unreleased)
  21. Soundstream – All Night (previously unreleased)

Release date

October 19, 2009

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

ostgutcd10

Tama Sumo
Panorama Bar 02

Wird geladen...

Manche DJs legen ihre Eier auf die Plattenteller und manche ihr Herz – Tama Sumo auf jeden Fall ihr Herz. Nicht erst seit ihrer Residency in der Panorama Bar zählt sie zu denjenigen House-DJs in Berlin, die mit einem ureigenen Stil und herzerfrischendem Charisma überzeugen. Ihre Sets sind in der Regel musikalisch äußerst vielfältig, die Basis, auf die sie in ihren langen Sonntagmittagsets zurückgreift, bleibt jedoch immer House – drumherum gruppieren sich Techno, Disco, alter Electro, hin und wieder Pop. Oft ist es nicht einfach, den speziellen Stil eines DJs einzuordnen, bei Tama Sumo ist es ein in jedem Moment zu spürender Mehrwert an Emotionalität, eine Offenheit, die sich auf der Tanzfläche mit einem Plus an Sexyness und Dreck bemerkbar macht. Nach Cassy ist es nun also an ihr, die Fackel unserer Panorama Bar Mix Reihe weiterzutragen.

„Wie beim Auflegen war auch für das Konzept des Mixes für mich ganz entscheidend, einen emotionalen und roughen, kräftigen Houseentwurf zu schaffen, der der allgegenwärtigen easy-to-get-Funktionalität etwas entgegenzusetzen hat“, erklärt Tama Sumo ihre Herangehensweise.
Ihr Mix ist darüber hinaus ein sehr persönliches Statement geworden.
Für Ihren Mix hat sie Tracks von Produzenten angefragt, deren Musik sie toll findet und deren Arbeit sie inspiriert, darunter auch einige, mit denen sie persönlich viel verbindet.

Dabei sind, ähnlich wie bei den „Berghain “ CDs von Marcel Dettmann oder Len Faki, wieder einige Exklusivtracks herausgesprungen. Die exzellenten Tracks von Steffi, Lerosa, Basic Soul Unit und Levon Vincent werden vorab auf Vinyl (Ostgut Ton 028 & 029) veröffentlicht und es gibt auf „Panorama Bar 02“ zudem noch bisher unveröffentlichte Musik von, Soundstream, Shed und Tama Sumo & Prosumer zu hören.

Tama Sumo schaut in ihrem Mix auf ihr direktes Umfeld, und bezieht sämtliche Strömungen mit ein, die sie in den letzten Jahren beeinflusst haben. Vom wispernden Pop eines Tin Man über Deephouse von John Daly, John Roberts, Trus’ Me oder Kassem Mosse zu dem epischen Detroittechno von Redshapes „Trespassers“ Interpretation von Newworldaquarium, Dubtechno von XDB, dem frühen House eines Marcus Mixx im Ron Hardy Mix oder dem over-the top-Pop von Ost & Kjex. Es gibt in Tamas Mix viele, zu Unrecht verschollene Perlen zu hören und Platten, die man weder oft in den Clubs hören noch auf Mix CDs finden kann. „Wichtig war mir der Spannungsbogen – locker und gefühlvoll reinkommen, langsam steigern bis zur wilden Ekstase, etwas Pop um die Ecke schauen lassen und entspannt und mit gutem Gefühl wieder aussteigen: für mich ist das das typische Panorama-Bar-Gefühl.“

Tracklist

Tracks CD

  1. Tin Man – Constant Confusion
  2. John Daly – Birds
  3. Nina Kraviz – Voices (Jenifa Mayanja Remix)
  4. Steffi – 24 Hours (Exclusive)
  5. Lerosa – Plesso (Exclusive)
  6. Prosumer & Murat Tepeli – U & I
  7. John Roberts – Blame
  8. Trus’ Me – W.A.R. Dub
  9. Kassem Mosse – Zolarem
  10. Shed – Stiff Job (previously unreleased)
  11. Newworldaquarium – Trespassers (Redshape Trespassed Mix)
  12. Mike Huckaby – Wavetable No.9
  13. XDB – Jet
  14. Levon Vincent – Late Night Jam (Exclusive)
  15. Lucretio – Good Words
  16. The Oliverwho Factory – Together
  17. Basic Soul Unit – Things Pass (Exclusive)
  18. Marcus Mixx – Without Makeup (Ron Hardy Mix)
  19. Ost & Kjex – Continental Lover
  20. Tama Sumo & Prosumer – Alien Mutts (previously unreleased)
  21. Soundstream – All Night (previously unreleased)

Release Date

19. Oktober 2009

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich