1
2
3
O-TON 125

Tobias.
1972

Loading...
Also available at

On 1972, veteran producer and live musician Tobias Freund offers up four tracks of layered and meticulously-crafted techno using his extensive archives of tape recordings collected since childhood. Referencing a mix of profound political events in German history and esoteric meditation guides, the Berghain resident's warm, detailed sound edges beyond the floor toward brain-tingling home listening and wanderlust autobahn escapism.

The EP begins with the titles track’s buzzing synths panning rhythmically across the stereo field like a hypnotist’s pocket watch, while a somber, sampled string melody pushes further into cosmic territory before concluding with a bi-lingual eulogy. “Schism” soars with a never-ending snare roll and sparse kicks – an entire track floating on a break that never lands. On “The Wisdom Of No Escape”, Freund combines soft, polyrhythmic bleeps with esoteric vocal samples on an infinite inward path of hallucinogenic self-discovery. EP closer “Electric Storm” makes a turn for the ultrastoned, with hats and writhing vocals disintegrating and reforming over a soft, round steady pulse.

Overall, 1972 features a sound that Tobias. has honed for over 30 years, having initially made a name for himself mixing various pop hits in the 80s and 90s while simultaneously producing experimental electronics under various pseudonyms including Metazone, Phobia, Pink Elln and Zoon. On his own Non Standard Productions imprint he has regularly collaborated with the likes of Max Loderbauer and Ricardo Villalobos and most recently with visual artist Valentina Berthelon as Recent Arts. His releases and lengthy live techno sets with Atom™ continue to set the bar high for improvised electronics.

Tracklist

01. 1972
02. Schism
03. The Wisdom Of No Escape
04. Electric Storm

Credits

Written, produced and mastered by Tobias Freund at Non Standard Studios, Berlin
Lacquer Cut: Mike Grinser at Manmade Mastering, Berlin
Published by Freibank

Release date

February 14, 2020

Subscribe to occasional news and announcements by email newsletter

1
2
3
O-TON 125

Tobias.
1972

Wird geladen...
Also available at

Mit 1972 unterbreitet der altverdiente Produzent und Livemusiker Tobias Freund vier sorgfältig ausgearbeitete, vielschichtige Technotracks, verwendet dabei sein seit Kindheitstagen gewachsenes, umfangreiches Tapemitschnittarchiv. Dabei werden eine Mischung hintergründiger politischer Ereignisse der deutschen Vergangenheit und esoterische Meditationsanleitungen referenziert, mittels derer der warme, detailreiche Sound des Berghain-Residents vom Dancefloor in Richtung Hirn-anregendes Home Listening und Autobahn-Wanderlust-Eskapismus abbiegt.

Die EP beginnt mit den summenden Synths des Titelstücks, die – gleich der Taschenuhr eines Hypnotiseurs – rhythmisch über das Klangspektrum pendeln. Dazu treibt eine triste, gesampelte Streichermelodie weiter in kosmische Gefilde, bevor das Stück von einer bilingualen Trauerrede beschlossen wird. „Schism“ steigt mit einer endlosen Snare Roll und sparsamen Kicks in höchste Höhen – ein ganzer Track auf einem niemals endenden Break. In „The Wisdom Of No Escape“ kombiniert Freund sanfte, polyrhythmische Bleeps mit esoterischen Vocalsamples auf einem nach Innen gerichteten Pfad halluzinogener Selbstentdeckung. Diese EP endet mit „Electric Storm“, einem Turn für den ultimativen Trip, mit Hi-Hats und sich windenden Vocals, desintegrierend und sich um einen sanften, stetischen Puls wandelnd.

1972 betont einen Klang, den Tobias. im Lauf von 30 Jahren gemeistert hat. Hatte er sich in den 80er und 90er Jahren zunächst einen Namen über die Studioarbeit an verschiedenen Pop-Hits gemacht, produzierte er zur gleichen Zeit experimentelle elektronische Musik unter verschiedenen Pseudonymen wie Metazone, Phobia, Pink Elln und Zoon. Auf seinem eigenen Label Non Standard Productions kollaborierte Tobias. mit Max Loderbauer und Ricardo Villalobos, in jüngster Zeit im Duo mit der Künstlerin Valentina Berthelon als Recent Arts. Seine Veröffentlichungen und epischen Live-Techno-Sets mit Atom™ setzen weiterhin eine hohe Latte für improvisierte Electronics.

Tracklist

01. 1972
02. Schism
03. The Wisdom Of No Escape
04. Electric Storm

Credits

Written, produced and mastered by Tobias Freund at Non Standard Studios, Berlin
Lacquer Cut: Mike Grinser at Manmade Mastering, Berlin
Published by Freibank

Release Date

14. Februar 2020

Gelegentliche Neuigkeiten und Ankündigungen im E-Mail-Newsletter

Beide Newsletter sind nur in englischer Sprache erhältlich